Can I Go to Jail if I Drive With a Suspended Driver’s License?

 Posted on March 09,2021 in Driver's License Reinstatement

Arlington Heights, IL traffic violations defense attorney drivers license reinstatement

Driving is one of those privileges that we do not realize is a privilege until we are no longer permitted to use it. Driving is necessary for many people in their everyday lives, but there are many ways you can lose your driving privileges in the state of Illinois. From not paying fines and fees, to avoiding paying court-ordered child support, a driver’s license suspension can come in many forms. However, the most common reason a person’s driver’s license is suspended or revoked is because of a DUI arrest and/or conviction. In Illinois, you can have your license suspended for simply failing or refusing to complete chemical testing after you have been arrested for DUI. Losing your privileges can be simple, but driving while your license is suspended or revoked can result in serious consequences that can set you back even further.

Driving on a Suspended License

Life can become difficult if your driving privileges have been suspended and it can become tempting to simply drive regardless of the suspension. However, this could result in even more difficulties and penalties than you are already facing. The penalties that come with driving on a suspended license charge depend largely on how many prior convictions a person has, if any.

  • First Offense: If you are arrested for driving with a suspended or revoked license and this is the first time you have faced this charge, the offense is classified as a Class A misdemeanor. This means the offense carries the potential of up to one year in jail, with mandatory imprisonment of at least 10 days, or 30 days of community service -- the judge gets to decide. In addition, you also face up to $2,500 in fines, not including any other DUI-related charges.

  • Second and Third Offenses: If your arrest is your second or third instance of driving with a suspended or revoked license, you will be charged with a Class 4 felony. This offense carries a potential prison sentence of up to three years in prison, with a minimum of 30 days in jail or 300 hours of community service, depending on the judge’s discretion.

All instances of driving with a suspended or revoked driver’s license will result in the suspension period being doubled from what it originally was.

Contact a Rolling Meadows, IL Driver’s License Suspension Attorney

If you have had your driving privileges suspended or revoked, you should speak with an Arlington Heights, IL driver’s license reinstatement lawyer to discuss your options as soon as possible. Your course of action will greatly depend on your individual situation and the reason your license was suspended or revoked in the first place. Call Scott F. Anderson, Attorney at Law today at 847-253-3400 to schedule a free consultation for help with reinstating your driving privileges.




Share this post: