Bar fights can easily escalate from a minor dispute to a serious crime. If you were in a bar fight and charged with assault, you are likely wondering about your legal options and whether you could go to prison if convicted. As you face these charges, contact an experienced criminal defense lawyer, as violent crimes such as assault are often prosecuted aggressively, which makes retaining counsel an essential thing to do at this time.
What You Need to Know About Assault in Illinois
In Illinois, assault is a Class C misdemeanor and can result in up to 30 days in jail and a fine of $1,500. However, suppose the assault allegedly happened on public property. If this is the case, you could be charged with aggravated assault, which, at its most basic form, is classified as a Class A misdemeanor, punishable by one year in jail and fines up to $2,500. Moreover, if the assault involved using a deadly weapon or resulted in serious bodily harm, this can also be charged as aggravated assault. However, in cases involving a deadly weapon or serious bodily harm, the penalties of the crime are enhanced to being a Class 4 felony, punishable by up to three years in jail and $25,000 in fines.
Non-Legal Penalties for Assault in Illinois
In addition to the potential criminal penalties, an assault conviction can devastate your personal and professional life. It can make it challenging to find a job, rent an apartment, or obtain a loan, and it may even result in losing a professional license....