Like most other states, Illinois has stiff penalties for drug crimes, such as possessing a controlled substance. Illinois recognizes cocaine as a Schedule I drug, meaning that there is a very high risk of abusing the substance, and there is no accepted medical use for the drug. While the ultimate sentence that an individual may face is based on the charges, circumstances of the case, and the individual’s criminal history, jail time is certainly a possibility. Today, we will discuss what you need to know about being charged with cocaine possession in Illinois. As always, if you have found yourself in this situation, contact a criminal defense attorney right away.
Here is What You Need to Know About Cocaine Possession
In Illinois, possession of a small amount of cocaine, like less than 15 grams, is considered to be a Class 4 felony offense, which, if you are convicted, may land you in prison for up to one year and paying fines of up to $25,000. Assuming this is a first-time offense, it is not overly probable that you will serve prison time on a first-time offense of possessing a small amount of cocaine. However, an experienced criminal defense lawyer will still be crucial in defending your rights and interests against the charges.
Furthermore, if you are charged with possessing an amount of cocaine between 15 and 100 grams, this is a Class 1 Felony, which can result in a sentence between 4 and 15 years in prison and fines up to $200,000. If arrested for possessing between 100 and 400 grams of cocaine, this too is a Class 1 Felony, punishable by between six and 30 years in prison and fines up to $200,000....