The Illinois Secretary of State reports that 86 percent of drivers arrested for DUI in 2012 were first time offenders. Even for a first offense, a DUI has the potential of carrying serious penalties.
Depending on the facts surrounding the arrest, it can include:
- Court fines and fees;
- Suspension of driving privileges;
- Community service; and
If a driver is arrested for a DUI in Illinois and fails or refuses to submit to a chemical testing, driving privileges are automatically suspended for six months for failing chemical testing and 12 months for refusal to submit. In both instances, if it is a first time offense, drivers may be eligible for a Monitoring Device Driving Permit (MDDP)....