Reinstating Your License After an Illinois DUI

 Posted on October 17,2023 in DUI

IL defense lawyerIf you are caught driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, you can expect to lose your license for a period of time. The length of revocation will depend on if you have prior convictions. 

If you have been charged with a DUI, you will need an attorney who can protect your rights and get you back behind the wheel. You need an Arlington Heights DUI defense attorney.

Is My License Automatically Suspended after a DUI Conviction?

To be charged with a DUI, you must have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or higher. The length of time your license is revoked will depend on whether or not you have any prior DUI convictions.

First-Time Offenders

As a driver in the state of Illinois, you automatically consent to take a blood, urine, or breathalyzer test during a DUI stop under the state's implied consent law. If you refuse to take a chemical test, you will face a suspension of your license for one year, regardless of the outcome of any DUI criminal charges brought against you.

If you fail a chemical test and are a first-time offender, the penalties for a DUI conviction will include:

  • License suspension of six months up to one year (two years if under the age of 21)
  • Fines of up to $2,500 
  • Up to one year in jail 
  • 240 hours of community service
  • Additional criminal and administrative sanctions

If you were driving a passenger under the age of 16 at the time of your violation, you will have to pay a minimum fine of $1,000, spend six months in prison, and complete 25 days of community service in a program benefiting children. 

Second-Time and Multiple Offenders

If you are receiving your second DUI or refuse a chemical test, you will again face license suspension. If you fail a chemical test, your license will be suspended for one year, while a refusal to take the test will result in your license being suspended for three years.

If your second DUI conviction is within 20 years, you will automatically lose your driving privileges for five years. A third DUI conviction will result in your license being revoked for ten years.

If you are under 21 years old, the penalties are harsher. If it is your second DUI, your license will be suspended for five years or until you turn 21, whichever period is longer. 

If you receive a fourth DUI conviction, your license will be revoked for life. However, there are some ways to work around this. A Rolling Meadows DUI defense attorney will develop a defense strategy that could protect your driving privileges.

How Can I Get My License Reinstated?

If you are trying to get your license reinstated after a suspension period, you can pay a $250 reinstatement fee to the Secretary of State’s office. All revocations and suspensions on your driving record must be resolved. If you are a repeat offender, the reinstatement fee is $500.

If you are trying to get your license reinstated after it was revoked, the following criteria must be satisfied:

  • Having a clean driving record.
  • Submitting to an alcohol or drug evaluation.
  • Complete an alcohol education program.
  • Attend a hearing with a hearing officer from the Secretary of State and show that your driving privileges will not be a threat to public safety
  • Show proof of financial responsibility, pay the fees for application and reinstatement, and pass the driver’s license test. 

An Arlington Heights, IL, DUI Defense Attorney Offering Impressive Results

A DUI conviction can take away your legal right to drive. Defending these charges requires that you have reliable counsel working for you. Look no further than our Rolling Meadows, IL, DUI defense lawyer. Contact Scott F. Anderson, Attorney at Law online or by calling 847-253-3400 today to schedule your free consultation.  

Share this post: