Being stopped for a suspected DUI is always a stressful situation, with the potential for a diverse array of unfortunate consequences. One of these consequences, if you are arrested for DUI in Illinois, is a suspension of driving privileges.
A driving suspension for DUI in Illinois means that you are prohibited from operating a motor vehicle anywhere in the state. If you are caught driving on a suspended license, you will face criminal charges. Often, these will be felony level charges, with substantial penalties.
When you are arrested for DUI in Illinois, the arresting officer will give you a notice of statutory summary suspension. You should receive a copy of the notice during your arrest and there are two additional copies that go into the state system. One copy will go to the clerk’s office in the county where you were apprehended, in the jurisdiction where your case will be heard. The other copy will be sent to the Illinois Secretary of State.
The Secretary’s office will inspect your driving record to decide what length of suspension should be entered. Whether or not you submitted to chemical testing will also be a consideration factor in determining the length of your suspension. The suspension of driving privileges can be for a minimum of six months up to a maximum of thirty-six months.
Once the Secretary of State’s Office has processed your notice of suspension, they will send you a Confirmation of Suspension. This notice will provide you with very important info, on the upper right hand side of the page, that includes:
The projected eligibility date for driver’s license reinstatement is provisional because you must complete certain requirements to have your driving privileges reinstated. One of the requirements is the payment of a reinstatement fee. This fee will be designated by the Secretary of State’s Office, that will indicate:
It is possible to be arrested for driving while suspended, a criminal offense in Illinois, due to failure to pay the fee in a timely fashion. However, do not pay the fee right away. It is possible that your lawyer may be able to get the suspension dismissed, in which case the you will not be required to pay the fee.
If your suspension is not dismissed by the court, you should target a date for payment of 45 days prior to the projected eligibility date for reinstatement. This should provide enough administrative time for the Secretary of State’s Office to process the payment and put the info into the computer system so you are legal to drive on the first date of your reinstated driving privileges. You should also receive a letter from the Secretary’s Office that indicates that you are eligible to drive and your driving privileges have been restored.
At the Law Offices of Scott F. Anderson, Illinois criminal defense attorney, Scott Anderson, has over 23 years of experience working in the Illinois criminal justice system. He has handled DUI cases both in the trial courts and on appeal. He has represented clients for misdemeanor and felony DUI crimes throughout Cook, Lake, DuPage and McHenry Counties. Please call 847-253-3400 to schedule a free initial consultation today.
Client accused of burglary was acquitted due to our skillful cross examination of eye witness identification.
Client accused of causing the death of another while driving under the influence - Acquitted.
Client accused of first degree murder - Acquitted.
Client accused of embezzlement - Charges never filed.
Hundreds of Secretary of State hearings for Drivers License Reinstatement - Won.