Sex Offender Registration in Illinois

 Posted on December 27,2023 in Sex Crimes

Blog ImageIf you have been convicted of a sex crime, you will likely be required to register as a sex offender. Depending on your offense, you may be listed on the sex offender registry for ten years or for life

There are a number of crimes that require registration on the sex offender list. If you have been arrested for a sex crime, do not hesitate to contact an Arlington Heights sex crimes defense attorney as soon as possible.

What is the Sex Offender Registry?

The sex offender registry is a system for monitoring offenders who have been released from jail. The registry is designed to keep community members safe by informing them of who is living in their community.

A sex offender registry lists the full name, current address, physical appearance, and a comprehensive list of their criminal history. You can find a list of sex offenders on the National Sex Offender Public Website (NSOPW)

Sex Crimes that Require Registration

A number of sex crimes will require registration on the sex offender registry, including, but not limited to:

  • Indecent solicitation of a child
  • Sexual exploitation of a child
  • Soliciting for a juvenile prostitute
  • Juvenile pimping
  • Exploitation of a child
  • Child pornography
  • Criminal sexual assault
  • Predatory criminal sexual assault of a child
  • Criminal sexual abuse
  • Ritualized abuse of a child

If you are facing allegations for these or other sex crimes, it is in your best interest to speak with a Rolling Meadows sex offenses lawyer immediately.

When Does an Offender Need to Be Listed on the Registry?

All fifty states have specific requirements for when a sex offender must be listed on the registry. In Illinois, a sex offender is required to register under the Sex Offender Registration Act if he or she has been convicted of a felony offense after July 1, 2011

How Long Are You Required to Be Listed on the Registry?

Sex offenders will be listed on the sex offender registry for a minimum of 10 years. Sex offenders will be required to register each year, with an annual registration fee of $100. The registration period will begin when a person begins probation.

A person who is considered to be sexually violent or sexually dangerous will be required to re-register on the sex offender registry every 90 days. These offenders will be required to register for life, along with anyone who is deemed a sexual predator

A person is considered a sexual predator if he or she committed a severe sex crime or committed the same sexual offense repeatedly. Prime examples are criminal sexual assault, child pornography, juvenile pimping, exploitation of a child, or luring of a minor.

What You Need to Know About Registering

A sex offender must register at the local police department within three days of sentencing. If you live within a city, you will register with the city police department. If you live outside the city, you will register at the county sheriff’s office

If you reside anywhere for a period of three days or longer, you are required to register within that municipality

Contact a Rolling Meadows, IL, Sex Crimes Defense Attorney

Avoiding a sex crime conviction takes the skills of an experienced Arlington Heights, IL, sex crimes defense attorney. If you have been recently arrested or charged for a sex crime, you should take every measure to avoid a conviction. Do not hesitate to contact Scott F. Anderson, Attorney at Law to schedule your free consultation. Our office can be reached online or by calling 847-253-3400.

Share this post: