Blog
Subscribe to this list via RSS Blog posts tagged in criminal charges

Arlington Heights, IL hate crimes defense attorney

In the past couple of years, hate crimes have become more prevalent and widely reported in the United States, especially in Illinois. According to data from the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI), the country as a whole saw a slight drop in the number of hate crimes committed in 2018. Illinois, however, saw a 32 percent increase in hate crimes. A majority of these hate crimes were influenced by the race and sexual orientation of the victims, while religion-based hate crimes saw a slight decrease. Across the United States, nearly half of the 7,120 hate crimes were perpetrated against African Americans. One recent incident in DuPage County involved a race-based hate crime perpetrated by a teenager.

Teen Places Ad on Craigslist for Black Classmate

A Naperville teenager has been charged with a hate crime after he posted an inappropriate ad on Craigslist offering a fellow classmate up for sale. According to investigating officials, the ad, which has since been taken down, bore the title, “Slave for sale” and was followed by a racial slur and also included a photo of a black classmate. Officials announced Wednesday that the 14-year-old boy faced two counts of a hate crime and one count of disorderly conduct for the incident. The school district also took action and punished the boy with two days of suspension, which the victim’s mother chastised as being too lenient. 

...

Rolling Meadows, IL disorderly conduct defense attorney

In Illinois, some laws can be somewhat vague, such as reckless driving laws. Under these laws, it is up to a judge and perhaps a jury to determine what “reckless driving” actually is. Similarly, Illinois’ disorderly conduct laws act as a sort of “catch-all” for obnoxious or alarming behavior. What some may consider to be a fun and crazy night out could be considered a breach of disorderly conduct. Although the disorderly conduct statute specifies certain behaviors that can be charged as such, the final decision is still left up to the judge most of the time. Therefore, it is important to learn what behaviors or actions may constitute disorderly conduct in Illinois in case you ever face these criminal charges.

What Is Disorderly Conduct?

There are quite a few behaviors and actions that could result in a disorderly conduct charge. In general, disorderly conduct occurs when you do “any act in such an unreasonable manner as to alarm or disturb another and to provoke a breach of the peace.” This is the most common reason people are hit with disorderly conduct charges -- disturbing the peace. This is also the most subjective disorderly conduct charge, so it might be a little easier to fight in court.

...

Rolling Meadows, IL DUI defense attorney

Nothing is free in this world -- not even getting in trouble is free. On the contrary, people who get in trouble with the law usually end up paying monetary costs for years because the fines and fees involved in criminal cases can be so expensive. In Illinois, being convicted of a DUI can be one of the most expensive criminal convictions. First-time DUI offenders are typically charged with a Class A misdemeanor, and a conviction could result in up to one year in prison, up to $2,500 in fines, and a one-year driver’s license suspension. What many people do not realize is that there are actually many more costs associated with a DUI conviction. Here are a few common, yet not necessarily obvious costs:

  • Increased Insurance Rates: After you have been convicted of DUI, you will be required to carry high-risk insurance, which costs more than normal insurance. Having high-risk insurance is required for at least three years. At $2,000 per year, insurance costs after a DUI conviction can cost you an extra $6,000.
  • Court Costs and Legal Fees: An uncontested plea and a hardship driving permit will cost you around $2,000. You can also expect to pay up to $2,500 in fines and court costs of $750 for a DUI conviction. You will also have to pay reimbursements to law enforcement for towing and vehicle storage fees, which are about $250, bringing the total to approximately $5,500.
  • Loss of Income: Missing time from work is not uncommon when you are charged and convicted of DUI. Jail time, community service, rehabilitation and/or remedial education classes can all lead to lost wages. A person who makes $55,000 per year can expect to lose four weeks of income, or an estimated $4,230.
  • Rehabilitation Services: If the court determines that you have a habitual and unhealthy relationship with alcohol, they may order you to attend substance abuse classes, counseling, and/or evaluations. Total rehabilitation costs can usually be around $300. 
  • BAIID Installation and Use: Driving while your driver’s license is suspended or revoked for DUI is not impossible, but it does come at a cost. You must have a BAIID installed on your vehicle for at least one year. The one-time installation fee is typically around $100. Monthly rental fees are around $80, and monthly monitoring fees are around $30, bringing your total for one year to $1,420.
  • Driver’s License Reinstatement Fees: Once you are eligible to have your license reinstated, you must attend a formal hearing at the Secretary of State’s office, which has a non-refundable fee of $50. Applying for a new license costs $30, and applying for a license after a suspension or revocation carries a reinstatement fee of $500.

Contact a Rolling Meadows, IL Criminal Defense Attorney 

Being convicted of a DUI is no joke. Not only will you have this conviction on your driving and criminal records forever, but you will also face an average DUI cost of $18,030. For most people, this is a huge financial burden that will take years to pay off. Scott F. Anderson, Attorney at Law understands the significant impact a DUI can have on your life, and he will do everything in his power to help you avoid a conviction. Call our skilled Arlington Heights, IL DUI defense lawyers today at 847-253-3400 to schedule a free consultation.

...

Arlington Heights retail theft defense lawyer

In the grand scheme of things, retail theft is a relatively minor crime--but it is still a crime. In many cases, retail theft is a misdemeanor charge in Illinois, but it can elevate to a felony charge in certain situations. What many people do not know is that retail theft is not just simply taking something from a store without paying for it. You can be charged with retail theft for a variety of different actions, which also determine the type of charge and the applicable penalties if you are convicted. 

General Retail Theft

When most people think of retail theft, they probably think of the type of theft that is defined under the Illinois Criminal Code. According to Illinois law, general retail theft occurs when a person takes possession of, carries away, transfers, or aids in the transferring or carrying away of merchandise without paying for the products and with the intention of depriving the store of its use or benefit. Retail theft is a Class A misdemeanor, as long as the value of the allegedly stolen merchandise does not exceed $300. If the merchandise is valued at more than $300, then the charge is elevated to a Class 3 felony. A repeat offense of retail theft is also an elevated charge and is classified as a Class 4 felony.

...

Rolling Meadows, IL sex crimes defense attorney

Due to the #MeToo movement and revelations about the criminal actions of some public figures, some types of crimes are receiving increased scrutiny. Accusations of sex crimes, such as sexual assault, are becoming more common, and offenders can face significant penalties, including imprisonment and fines. However, in some cases involving sex crimes, the accusations may come years after the crimes allegedly occurred, and the statute of limitations may have passed. The “statute of limitations” is a designated period of time in which an individual can bring legal action against another party. Recently, Illinois became the eighth state to remove the statute of limitations on sex crimes, and those who are facing these types of charges should be sure to understand how this change in the law may affect them.

No Time Limit to Report Sex Offenses

The new law, which will take effect beginning January 1, 2020, will allow alleged victims to come forward at any time to press charges against alleged abusers, and prosecutors will be able to pursue these charges. The law will remove the statute of limitations on felony sex crimes, including criminal sexual assault, aggravated criminal sexual assault, and aggravated criminal sexual abuse.

...

CALL US TODAY AT 847-253-3400 FOR A FREE INITIAL CONSULTATION