When Are Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Devices Used in DUI Cases?

 Posted on September 18,2019 in DUI

Rolling Meadows driving under the influence defense lawyer

The state of Illinois has some of the strictest DUI laws in the country. Even for a first offense of driving while under the influence, you can lose your driving privileges. In fact, through a statutory summary suspension, your driving privileges can be taken away without ever even being convicted of a DUI if you fail or refuse to take a chemical blood alcohol test. If your driving privileges are suspended because of a DUI, you do have options for driving relief during your suspension period. Depending on your circumstances, you can get a monitoring device driving permit (MDDP) or a restricted driving permit (RDP), both of which require the installation and use of a breath alcohol ignition interlock device (BAIID). If you lose your driving privileges, here are a few things you should know about BAIIDs:

  1. A BAIID Uses Your Breath to Determine if You Are Sober

If you have a BAIID installed in your vehicle, you will have to blow into the device before your car will even start. If your BAC registers 0.025 percent or more, the vehicle engine will not turn on. If your breath sample reads below 0.025 percent, the car will start. 

  1. You Are Responsible for the Costs Associated With the BAIID

Having a BAIID is not cheap; various fees and costs are associated with having a BAIID installed in your vehicle. There are nine different certified BAIID vendors in the state of Illinois, and each company has slightly different prices for their services. In general, it costs approximately $85 to have the BAIID installed in your vehicle and approximately $80 per month for the BAIID rental fee. You must also pay $30 per month to the Secretary of State’s office for a monitoring fee.

  1. The Illinois Secretary of State’s Office Can See Your BAIID Activity

The BAIID device is not private; the Secretary of State’s office can see all of your activity that is recorded on the device. Every 60 days, the Secretary of State’s office downloads the activity and examines it for violations. If a violation is found, the office sends you a letter requesting an explanation of the violation. For every violation, three months is added to your suspension. After three extensions, your car can be impounded for 30 days, and after four extensions, you risk having your car seized or forfeited.

Contact a Rolling Meadows, IL DUI Defense Attorney

Scott F. Anderson, Attorney at Law understands the impact a DUI conviction or even a DUI arrest can have on your life. Not only will you be subject to expensive fines and fees, but you also risk having your driving privileges taken away. In addition, you could face possible jail time depending on the circumstances of your case. If you have been accused of driving while under the influence, contact our skilled and knowledgeable Arlington Heights, IL drunk driving defense lawyers today. To get started, call our office today at 847-253-3400 to schedule a free consultation.




Share this post: