Each year, more than 30,000 drivers are arrested in Illinois for driving under the influence (DUI). Some are repeat offenders, with at least one other DUI conviction on their records. However, there are others who may be facing their first DUI offense. If you or someone you love falls into the latter group, and you were recently arrested, the following information can help you better understand the cost and consequences of a first-offense DUI in Illinois.
In the state of Illinois, a first-offense DUI is considered a Class A misdemeanor offense, and it carries with it a fine of $500 to $2,500 and the possibility of up to one year in jail. If the defendant agrees to certain conditions (alcohol awareness education courses and a reinstatement process), then the jail time may be waived for first-time offenders. However, this offense is always held on your record, meaning that you a second offense – even 20 years down the road – will have harsher criminal penalties.
In addition to criminal fines and fees, those who are facing a first-offense DUI charge will face administrative penalties, which includes the cost of a license suspension, reinstatement, obtainment of a Monitoring Device Driving Permit (if eligible), and/or the installment of an ignition interlock device (otherwise known as a BAIID). Because the suspension does not immediately take effect, and instead is done after an interim period, the defendant does have time to challenge the DUI to try and have it dismissed. To increase the chances of a successful outcome, it is highly recommended that any first-time offender wishing to challenge their charges seek the assistance of a skilled and experienced criminal defense attorney.
Other Charges Can Be Added to Your DUI
In addition to dealing with the consequences of a DUI charge, you may also face additional charges, or a heightened DUI charge. If, for example, you did not have insurance or a valid license at the time, you could face additional charges that could cause your vehicle being impounded and lead to an order of a 10 days in jail, or 30 days of community service. Alternatively, your DUI charge could be bumped up to aggravated DUI, which is a Class 4 felony. This carries a minimum imprisonment term of one year, and a maximum prison term of up to three years. To ensure your case is effectively represented, and that all factors are accurately considered, it is critical that you seek the skilled assistance of an experienced DUI defense attorney for your DUI charge - even if it is your first DUI offense.
With more than 25 years of experience in representing clients throughout Cook County, Scott F. Anderson, Attorney at Law, has the skills, resources, and knowledge needed to effectively examine your case from every angle to find leverage in your DUI case. Our Arlington Heights DUI defense attorneys use an assertive approach and, whenever possible, work to have your charges dropped. Do not let a DUI ruin your life! Schedule a consultation and ask how we can help. Call 847-253-3400 today.
Client accused of burglary was acquitted due to our skillful cross examination of eye witness identification.
Client accused of causing the death of another while driving under the influence - Acquitted.
Client accused of first degree murder - Acquitted.
Client accused of embezzlement - Charges never filed.
Hundreds of Secretary of State hearings for Drivers License Reinstatement - Won.