Blog

Insurance Requirements and License Plate Suspension in Illinois

IL defense lawyerAlmost all states require you to carry some type of insurance when you drive a vehicle--in Illinois, driver’s must have:

  • $25,000 for bodily injury per person;
  • $50,000 for bodily injury per accident; and
  • $20,000 for property damage.

These are the bare minimum of the insurance requirements that you must have to drive, though it is recommended that you have more than the minimum to protect yourself from being sued for damages over those amounts. Drivers must understand the consequences of driving without insurance in Illinois because the consequences could result in traffic violations.

Illinois Insurance Requirements

If you register your vehicle in Illinois, you are agreeing to have the minimum requirements for insurance. The state has developed ways to determine whether or not drivers have insurance. There are two ways the state verifies that you have insurance: a random survey and traffic stops.

Random Questionnaire

A computer is used to randomly select a vehicle out of the database of all registered vehicles in Illinois. If your vehicle is selected, you will be sent a short survey requesting the name of your insurance company and your policy number. The information that you send back will be verified with your insurance company. If you do not have insurance or you do not respond to the survey, your license plates will be suspended.

Traffic Stops

If you are pulled over for a traffic violation, the officer who pulled you over will ask for your license, registration, and proof of insurance. If you cannot provide the officer with proof of insurance, you will be considered an uninsured motorist and you might be issued a ticket. If you are convicted of driving without insurance, you will be subject to a minimum $500 fine or $1,000 if you were driving with suspended license plates due to a prior insurance violation.

License Plate Reinstatement

If you have been convicted of driving without insurance, your license plates have also been suspended. In order to get your license plates reinstated, you must pay a $100 reinstatement fee and provide proof of valid and current insurance to the Secretary of State’s office. If you are a repeat offender, you must wait four months before you are eligible for your license plates to be reinstated.

Seek Help from an Arlington Heights Traffic Violation Attorney

If you have been charged with an insurance violation for any reason, you need the immediate help of an experienced and aggressive Rolling Meadows traffic violation lawyer. You cannot afford to have your license plates suspended. Scott F. Anderson, Attorney at Law can help fight for your right to drive. Call the office at 847-253-3400 to set up a consultation.

 

Sources:

http://www.cyberdriveillinois.com/departments/vehicles/mandatory_insurance.html

https://www.dmv.org/il-illinois/car-insurance.php

CALL US TODAY AT 847-253-3400 FOR A FREE INITIAL CONSULTATION