Blog
Subscribe to this list via RSS Blog posts tagged in CDL drivers license

Rolling Meadows, IL CDL traffic violation lawyer

Speeding is a rather common traffic offense in Illinois and throughout the United States. It is easy to speed, because in many cases, a person does not even realize they are going over the speed limit. Traveling over the speed limit may seem like a victimless offense, but according to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), speeding killed more than 9,700 people in 2017 alone, or around 26 percent of all people killed in traffic accidents that year. Because of the danger speeding poses, Illinois laws can be rather serious when it comes to punishing violators. Any person who speeds is technically breaking the law, but those who have a commercial driver’s license (CDL) may face other consequences that could potentially damage their careers.

Speeding Laws in Illinois

If you are driving a designated amount over the speed limit, you may face criminal charges. These speeding laws are the same whether or not you hold a CDL. If you are going 26 mph or more over the posted speed limit, but not more than 35 mph over the limit, you can be charged with a Class B misdemeanor. This means you will face up to six months in jail and up to $1,500 with a minimum fine of $75. If you are caught going 35 mph or more over the posted speed limit, you can be charged with a Class A misdemeanor, meaning you will face up to one year in prison and up to $2,500 in fines.

...

Arlington Heights Driver's License Attorney

There are many consequences you can face after a DUI conviction. Depending on your specific circumstances, you could see hefty fines, jail time and a driver’s license suspension or revocation. If your license is suspended or revoked because of a DUI, you will be required to attend a hearing at the Illinois Secretary of State’s Office in order to apply for a monitoring device driving permit (MDDP), a restricted driving permit (RDP) or a full reinstatement of your driving privileges.

Administrative hearings come in two types: formal and informal. Just like the names sound, a formal hearing is more extensive than an informal hearing. It is important to understand the differences between the two types of hearings so you can be fully prepared when you attend yours with an experienced DUI attorney.

...

Posted on in DUI

Arlington Heights DUI defense lawyerDriving under the influence can place anyone’s livelihood at risk. However, those that have a commercial driver’s license (CDL) are especially at risk – not because the consequences are necessarily more severe, but because others may have a way to work around their DUI. This is not the case for the commercial driver. Learn how you can protect your CDL after a DUI arrest, and discover what an experienced criminal defense attorney can do to help.

BAC Limits for CDL Drivers

While most drivers are held to a maximum BAC of less than 0.08, CDL drivers have an even lower legal limit. They must never reach or exceed a BAC of 0.04, or they risk a disqualification (DQ) of their CDL license. If they are caught driving with a BAC of 0.08 or higher, their state driver’s license may also be at risk for suspension. Drivers may also be subject to felony criminal charges if there are certain aggravating factors in their case (i.e. an accident that resulted in significant injury or the death of another driver).

...

Arlington Heights CDL traffic violation defense attorneyWhile all drivers are held responsible for their actions and decisions, those who hold a commercial driver’s license (CDL) are held to even higher standards. Further, the loss or suspension of a license can result in a loss of income. Learn how you can fight against a CDL traffic ticket, and why you should, every single time.

Disqualification as a CMV Driver

Under Illinois state law, CDL drivers are disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle (CMV) if they are convicted of two or more “serious traffic violations” within a three-year time-period. Suspensions can last anywhere from 60 days to 10 years, depending on the circumstances. It is also important to keep in mind that this applies, regardless of whether you were operating a commercial vehicle or non-commercial vehicle at the time of your ticket.

...

CALL US TODAY AT 847-253-3400 FOR A FREE INITIAL CONSULTATION