Blog
Subscribe to this list via RSS Blog posts tagged in Illinois’ BAIID program

Rolling Meadows, IL DUI defense attorney

Nothing is free in this world -- not even getting in trouble is free. On the contrary, people who get in trouble with the law usually end up paying monetary costs for years because the fines and fees involved in criminal cases can be so expensive. In Illinois, being convicted of a DUI can be one of the most expensive criminal convictions. First-time DUI offenders are typically charged with a Class A misdemeanor, and a conviction could result in up to one year in prison, up to $2,500 in fines, and a one-year driver’s license suspension. What many people do not realize is that there are actually many more costs associated with a DUI conviction. Here are a few common, yet not necessarily obvious costs:

  • Increased Insurance Rates: After you have been convicted of DUI, you will be required to carry high-risk insurance, which costs more than normal insurance. Having high-risk insurance is required for at least three years. At $2,000 per year, insurance costs after a DUI conviction can cost you an extra $6,000.
  • Court Costs and Legal Fees: An uncontested plea and a hardship driving permit will cost you around $2,000. You can also expect to pay up to $2,500 in fines and court costs of $750 for a DUI conviction. You will also have to pay reimbursements to law enforcement for towing and vehicle storage fees, which are about $250, bringing the total to approximately $5,500.
  • Loss of Income: Missing time from work is not uncommon when you are charged and convicted of DUI. Jail time, community service, rehabilitation and/or remedial education classes can all lead to lost wages. A person who makes $55,000 per year can expect to lose four weeks of income, or an estimated $4,230.
  • Rehabilitation Services: If the court determines that you have a habitual and unhealthy relationship with alcohol, they may order you to attend substance abuse classes, counseling, and/or evaluations. Total rehabilitation costs can usually be around $300. 
  • BAIID Installation and Use: Driving while your driver’s license is suspended or revoked for DUI is not impossible, but it does come at a cost. You must have a BAIID installed on your vehicle for at least one year. The one-time installation fee is typically around $100. Monthly rental fees are around $80, and monthly monitoring fees are around $30, bringing your total for one year to $1,420.
  • Driver’s License Reinstatement Fees: Once you are eligible to have your license reinstated, you must attend a formal hearing at the Secretary of State’s office, which has a non-refundable fee of $50. Applying for a new license costs $30, and applying for a license after a suspension or revocation carries a reinstatement fee of $500.

Contact a Rolling Meadows, IL Criminal Defense Attorney 

Being convicted of a DUI is no joke. Not only will you have this conviction on your driving and criminal records forever, but you will also face an average DUI cost of $18,030. For most people, this is a huge financial burden that will take years to pay off. Scott F. Anderson, Attorney at Law understands the significant impact a DUI can have on your life, and he will do everything in his power to help you avoid a conviction. Call our skilled Arlington Heights, IL DUI defense lawyers today at 847-253-3400 to schedule a free consultation.

...

Illinois DUI defense lawyerWhile it is far better to fight a DUI before conviction, not everyone is aware that they can and should do so. Thankfully, some individuals may still be eligible to drive with the installation of a breath alcohol ignition interlock device (BAIID). Learn more about driving with the BAIID (and what it entails) with help from the following information. 

About the BAIID Driving Option

Upon conviction of a DUI, the license of a driver is suspended. The individual then has two choices: refrain from driving until the suspension has expired or obtain a Monitoring Device Driving Permit (MDDP) to become eligible for the BAIID driving option. Continuing to drive and not adhering to either of these options can result in additional criminal charges (a Class 4 felony). This applies, even if the individual is not intoxicated at the time they are caught driving.

...

Illinois DUI defense lawyerIn the state of Illinois, even first-time DUI offenders are at risk for a suspension of their driving privileges. Some are able to regain restricted driving privileges through a Monitoring Device Driving Permit, or a Restricted Driving Permit. Both options require the installation of a BAIID (Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device) on the offender’s vehicle. Learn what it really means to have one of these devices in your vehicle, and how you may be able to avoid the consequences of a DUI conviction.

What is a BAIID and How Does It Work?

A BAIID is basically a breathalyzer for your car. You must blow into it each time you start your vehicle, and even as you are driving down the road. Should you fail to test below the device’s pre-set limits (.00 to .024 BAC), your vehicle will not start. If you blow three or more tests with a 0.25 or higher, then your vehicle will be locked out for 24 hours. If you blow above 0.05, then you will be flagged for a violation. Every violation, blow, and lockout is recorded and will then be detected when you take the device in for monitoring (required every 30 days, or sooner if you are locked out of your vehicle).

...

Arlington Heights DUI defense attorney, BAIID program, Class 4 felony, driving suspension, DUI arrest, DUI offender, DUI offense, Illinois BAIID programThe cost of a DUI arrest often begins even before the first court date for the criminal charge. If a person fails sobriety testing or refuses to submit to testing during an arrest, there is an automatic suspension of driving privileges. A first-time offender who has failed chemical testing faces a six-month suspension and a refusal to submit to testing results in an automatic 12-month driving suspension. Either of these can cause serious hardship for those who rely on driving as their transportation to and from work and other daily activities.

First-time DUI offenders in Illinois who are eligible for a Monitoring Device Driving Permit (MDDP) can opt to register for a Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device (BAIID). If approved, the BAIID is installed and monitored by the Secretary of State’s office and will provide temporary driving relief during the suspended period.

By acquiring both a MDDP and BAIID, the registrant is allowed to drive at any time as long as it is in the vehicle with the installed equipment. Participants in the program are subject to average monthly fees of over one hundred dollars made payable to both the BAIID vendor and the Secretary of State’s Office. The following list of vendors are certified by the state of Illinois:

...

CALL US TODAY AT 847-253-3400 FOR A FREE INITIAL CONSULTATION