Blog

When Sex Offender Registration Is Required in Illinois

Posted on in Sex Crimes

IL defense lawyerOne of the most damaging crimes a person can be charged with is a sex crime. Because of their violent nature, sex crimes are taken very seriously, as are their allegations. In some instances, you can be forced to register as a sex offender in Illinois for the rest of your life. The sex offender registry is a state-wide system that contains information about sex offenders, such as where they live if they are compliant with registration requirements, their convictions, and photos of them.

Offenses Requiring Sex Offender Registration

According to the Illinois Sex Offender Registration Act, registration is required when a person is convicted or adjudicated for crimes such as:

  • Indecent solicitation of a child;
  • Sexual exploitation of a child;
  • Charges involving juvenile prostitution or juvenile pimping;
  • Child pornography or aggravated child pornography;
  • Sexual assault or abuse, or aggravated sexual assault or abuse;
  • Predatory sexual assault of a child;
  • Ritualized abuse of a child;
  • Forcible detention, if the victim is under age 18;
  • Indecent solicitation of an adult;
  • Soliciting for a prostitute, pandering, patronizing or pimping, if the victim is under age 18;
  • A third or subsequent conviction of public indecency;
  • Custodial sexual misconduct;
  • Sexual misconduct with a person with a disability;
  • Permitting sexual abuse of a child; or
  • Sexually-motivated kidnapping or abduction, or sexually-motivated aggravated kidnapping, if the victim is under age 18.

In order for you to be required to register as a sex offender, you must also have been:

  • Found not guilty by reason of insanity;
  • The subject of a finding not resulting in an acquittal;
  • Convicted or adjudicated for a violation of state or federal law;
  • A juvenile who was adjudicated delinquent for any of the qualifying offenses; or
  • Adjudicated as being sexually dangerous or sexually violent.

Length of Time Offenders Are Required to Register Depends on Findings

Some people who have committed sex crimes are only required to register as a sex offender for a 10-year period, while others are required to register for the rest of their lives. The classification of your crime and the type of crime you committed is usually the deciding factor for this.

Sexual Predator: If you have been found to be a sexual predator, you will be required to register as a sex offender one a year for the rest of your life. Most sex crimes fall under this category.

Sexually Dangerous Person: Those who suffer from a mental disorder and have shown an inclination or tendency to commit sex crimes are considered sexually dangerous and must register every 90 days for the rest of their life.

Sexually Violent Person: Those who have been convicted of a sexually violent offense, adjudicated delinquent for a sexually violent offense or have been found not guilty for a sexually violent offense because of insanity are considered sexually violent. These people must also register every 90 days for the rest of their lives.

Contact an Arlington Heights Sex Crimes Defense Attorney

An accusation of a sex crime is a serious situation that if not handled properly, can ruin your life. You do not want to have to register as a sex offender. If you have been accused of a sex crime, you should immediately contact a Cook County sex crimes defense lawyer who can help you clear your name. Scott F. Anderson, Attorney at Law has more than 25 years of criminal defense experience and can help you fight for your freedom. To set up a consultation, call the office at 847-253-3400.

 

Sources:

http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/ilcs3.asp?ActID=2009&ChapterID=55

https://www.isp.state.il.us/sor/faq.cfm

CALL US TODAY AT 847-253-3400 FOR A FREE INITIAL CONSULTATION