Since Illinois legalized recreational cannabis on Jan. 1, 2020, the industry has been booming. In fact, the state earned approximately $52 million in tax revenue in the first six months. Since then, more than 50 marijuana recreational and medicinal dispensaries have popped up across the state. The Illinois Cannabis Regulation and Tax Act is still a relatively new law that some people may find confusing. If you live in Illinois, it is important to know the laws regarding the purchase, use, and transportation of marijuana. Violating cannabis-related laws can lead to drug charges.
Cannabis Laws in Illinois
In some ways, cannabis laws parallel alcohol laws in Illinois. You have to be a certain age to possess and use marijuana. You cannot smoke or consume marijuana while operating a vehicle and driving under the influence of marijuana can lead to DUI charges. With that said, let’s get into specifics.
If you are an Illinois resident and are 21 years of age or older, you can buy cannabis and cannabis products from a licensed seller. However, there are limitations to how much cannabis you can have. You may possess up to 30 grams of marijuana flower, which is about two handfuls, 5 grams of concentrated cannabis, or edibles infused with 500 milligrams of Tetrahydrocannabinol (THC). If you are a 21-year-old non-Illinois resident, the numbers for possession change. You can have 15-grams of marijuana flower, 25 milligrams of THC-infused products, or 2.5 grams of cannabis concentrate....