Blog
Recent blog posts

Rolling Meadows construction zone speeding defense lawyerTraffic laws were put into place for a reason - to keep everyone safe while they are in and around motor vehicles. When someone violates these traffic laws, it can be dangerous for everyone involved, but if they violate traffic laws when driving through a work zone, the results can be deadly. According to the Illinois Department of Transportation, there were 6,741 crashes in Illinois work zones in 2016. In those accidents, 765 people were killed, and around 1,893 people were injured. 

Construction zones usually mean that there are more people near the road working, but drivers are actually more likely to become victims of construction zone crashes than workers. Illinois has some of the strictest construction zone traffic laws in the country, so it is important that you follow the rules for the sake of yourself and others.

1. Vehicle Occupants Are More Likely to Be Victims in Construction Zone Accidents

From 2013 to 2017, there were a total of 177 work zone accident fatalities in Illinois. Contrary to what you might think, the majority of those fatalities were not construction workers. In fact, only six workers were killed in construction zone collisions, meaning the other 171 deaths were drivers, passengers, pedestrians, or bicyclists.

...

Rolling Meadows traffic ticket attorneyMost states have some kind of points system that affects people’s driver’s licenses. The points systems work like golf--the fewer points you have, the better off you are. Every time you are convicted of a traffic offense, you will not just receive a citation--you will also gain points on your driving record. Each state’s system works differently; some states require you to gain a certain amount of points before action is taken, but others, like Illinois, only stipulate that you must commit three offenses before your license is penalized. Too many traffic violations could result in a license suspension or revocation, which can make life difficult for you.

Illinois’ Points System

The Office of the Illinois Secretary of State has developed a points system in which a driver accumulates a certain number of points each time they are convicted of a moving violation. The number of points that are assigned depends on the specific law that was violated, and the more severe the violation, the more points are assigned. If you are convicted of three or more offenses within 12 months, you could face a suspension or revocation of your driver’s license. Typically, when you hit that three-offense mark, a judge will make a determination regarding punishment depending on the number of points or the severity of the laws you violated.

High-Point Traffic Violations

Here are 10 of Illinois’ traffic violations that carry the most points:

...

Rolling Meadows aggravated DUI defense attorneyIt does not matter what situation you are in when you are charged with a DUI - they are all serious charges. However, if you are found to be driving while intoxicated when a child is present in the vehicle, your punishments will be much more strict. In Illinois, penalties for DUI increase if a child under the age of 16 years old is riding in the vehicle - but it does not stop there. In addition to DUI charges, you can also face other criminal violations, such as child endangerment. You could also be charged with more serious crimes if the child suffered an injury because of you. 

DUI With a Minor in the Vehicle

According to the Illinois Vehicle Code, a first conviction for DUI is a Class A misdemeanor, which comes with a loss of driving privileges for one year, a possible sentence of up to one year in jail, and a maximum fine of $2,500. If you had a child in your vehicle while you were driving under the influence, that sentence is a mandatory minimum of six months in jail, a mandatory minimum $1,000 fine, regardless of your ability to pay, and 25 days of community service in a program that benefits children.

If you were convicted of DUI, and there was a minor under the age of 16 in the vehicle who suffered bodily injury because of an accident you caused, the penalties increase. Even a first offense is considered a Class 4 felony aggravated DUI. This means that in addition to any other criminal or administrative punishments, a mandatory $2,500 fine is imposed, and 25 days of community service in a program that benefits children is required.

...

Arlington Heights statutory rape defense attorneyWe have all heard the saying that “age is just a number,” or some similar sentiment. While that saying may be true for certain couples, when it comes to sexual relationships, age can become very important, and it can be the deciding factor as to whether or not you are committing a crime. Age of consent laws were enacted to prevent children and adolescents from being taken advantage of, and these laws differ from state to state. Violating age of consent laws can result in sex crime accusations, which should not be taken lightly, since they come with serious consequences.

What Is the Age of Consent in Illinois?

The age of consent refers to when the law determines that a person is able to consent to sexual acts. In Illinois, the age of consent is 17, meaning that if a child is under the age of 17, they cannot legally give their consent to a sexual act. If a child is 16 and willingly performs a sexual act with an adult, the other person can face criminal charges, because the 16-year-old is seen as not being mature enough to consent to such an act or not fully understanding the ramifications of such an act.

Charges for Violating the Age of Consent

While engaging in sexual activity with someone under the age of consent is commonly known as statutory rape, Illinois law does not use this term. There are a few different offenses you can be charged with if you engage in sexual acts with someone under the age of 17:

...

Cook County traffic violation attorneyWhen you are driving, the last thing you want to see is red and blue lights flashing in your rearview mirror. Being stopped for a traffic violation is no fun for anyone, and depending on why you were stopped, you could be facing serious consequences. Your quick trip to the grocery store could end up being a long process of fighting a traffic ticket. You can get cited for multiple traffic-related offenses in Illinois, and if you do end up getting a traffic ticket, here are four things you should know:

1. There Are Different Types of Violations

In Illinois, traffic tickets can be one of two types: a moving violation or a non-moving violation. A moving violation occurs when a law is broken while you are driving your vehicle. Examples of moving violations include:

Non-moving violations typically involve parking or something wrong with your vehicle. Examples of non-moving violations include:

...

CALL US TODAY AT 847-253-3400 FOR A FREE INITIAL CONSULTATION