Blog
Recent blog posts

Arlington Heights retail theft defense lawyer

In the grand scheme of things, retail theft is a relatively minor crime--but it is still a crime. In many cases, retail theft is a misdemeanor charge in Illinois, but it can elevate to a felony charge in certain situations. What many people do not know is that retail theft is not just simply taking something from a store without paying for it. You can be charged with retail theft for a variety of different actions, which also determine the type of charge and the applicable penalties if you are convicted. 

General Retail Theft

When most people think of retail theft, they probably think of the type of theft that is defined under the Illinois Criminal Code. According to Illinois law, general retail theft occurs when a person takes possession of, carries away, transfers, or aids in the transferring or carrying away of merchandise without paying for the products and with the intention of depriving the store of its use or benefit. Retail theft is a Class A misdemeanor, as long as the value of the allegedly stolen merchandise does not exceed $300. If the merchandise is valued at more than $300, then the charge is elevated to a Class 3 felony. A repeat offense of retail theft is also an elevated charge and is classified as a Class 4 felony.

...

Rolling Meadows, IL driving under the influence attorney

Being pulled over by the police for any reason can be a nerve-wracking experience. Something about those flashing red and blue lights in the rearview mirror can instill fear and anxiety in even the most innocent people. If an officer has reasonable suspicion that you are driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol, he or she will pull you over to further investigate. During the traffic stop, the officer will be looking for any sign that you are impaired beyond the point of safe driving. Before an arrest can be made, there must be probable cause. One of the ways an officer obtains probable cause is by performing field sobriety tests, such as asking you to walk in a straight line or stand on one foot. However, if an officer asks you to complete a field sobriety test, do you have the right to refuse in Illinois?

Field Sobriety Testing

The short answer is yes, you can refuse a field sobriety test. In Illinois, you are not legally required to submit to field sobriety testing if you are pulled over on suspicion of DUI. Even though you have the right to refuse a field sobriety test, it is important to understand that there might be certain consequences if you do not submit to testing. The purpose of using these kinds of tests is to establish probable cause so the officer has reason to arrest you. If you refuse to take a test, you should understand that the officer will then be even more determined to find probable cause to arrest you. Many officers will perform an arrest using your refusal to submit to field sobriety testing as probable cause for their suspicion.

...

Arlington Heights, IL DUI defense lawyer

In all 50 states, it is illegal to drive while under the influence of drugs or alcohol. When you are intoxicated, your body does not react to instances in the same way as it would when you are sober. Your response time is slower, your reflexes are diminished, and your cognitive abilities are impaired. This is what makes accidents involving an intoxicated driver so deadly. There were 27,046 people arrested for DUI in Illinois in 2017, according to the Secretary of State’s office. Being convicted of a DUI can result in serious penalties, including driver’s license revocation, fines, and even jail time in some circumstances.

Before the Stop

Before you are pulled over, a police officer must have probable cause to conduct a traffic stop. In other words, the officer cannot just randomly choose a car to pull over; there has to be a legitimate reason for the stop. Common factors that lead officers to pull over vehicles on suspicion of DUI include erratic driving, lane swerving, or speeding.

...

Rolling Meadows, IL firearms violation defense lawyer

In today’s world, firearms have become a popular topic of conversation in both the legislative arena and in everyday life. Many lawmakers have pushed for increased regulation of the sale, purchase, and use of guns throughout the country, but many Americans still cling to their Second Amendment rights. The state of Illinois has fairly strict laws when it comes to guns. If you wish to possess a firearm in Illinois, you must first apply and receive a firearm owner’s identification (FOID) card. Similar to a driver’s license, the card contains information about you and is proof that you are permitted to own a firearm. In certain situations, your FOID card could be revoked, which would require you to take certain steps to avoid criminal charges.

How Can I Lose My FOID Card Privileges?

Illinois has established a set of criteria that each person wishing to own a firearm must meet. A FOID card is valid for 10 years after it is issued, but it can be revoked at any time if your circumstances change and you no longer meet the eligibility requirements. Your FOID card can be revoked if you:

...

Arlington Heights juvenile drug crimes defense attorney

Drug use among teenagers has been declining for some time now, although it still remains a problem, especially among teens who are involved in the juvenile justice system. The Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention (OJJDP) reported that an estimated 1.3 million teenagers aged 12-17 had a substance abuse disorder in 2014. According to multiple studies, around half of the youths within the juvenile court system have problems related to alcohol or drugs. Rather than leave these disorders untreated, teens who come into contact with the juvenile justice system and have an apparent drug or alcohol problem can be referred to the juvenile drug court treatment program.

Determining Eligibility

In order to be admitted to the drug court treatment program in Illinois, a juvenile offender must be referred and must meet all eligibility requirements. For a juvenile to be eligible for the drug court treatment program, he or she must:

...

CALL US TODAY AT 847-253-3400 FOR A FREE INITIAL CONSULTATION