Blog
Subscribe to this list via RSS Blog posts tagged in sex crime conviction

IL defense lawyerIf you have been charged with sexual assault, you are likely dealing with a lot of stress and anxiety. These charges and the effect they can have on your freedom and future can be frightening. Sexual assault carries severe penalties in Illinois. A first-time offender faces a Class 1 felony offense, which is punishable with a prison term of four to 15 years. Those with a prior sexual assault conviction will face a Class X felony, which carries between six and 30 years in prison. Getting convicted of this crime can also have a detrimental effect on your professional and personal relationships.

Steps to Take If Charged with Sexual Assault

If you are facing a sexual assault charge in Illinois, it is important to take quick action. The steps you take immediately afterward can have a significant impact on the outcome of your case:

  • Do not speak to the police. Once you have been charged with sexual assault, the police may want to ask you questions about your case. However, you are under no obligation to talk to any law enforcement official. In fact, speaking to the police could make things worse for you. They may try to use what you said against you in court. Instead, tell the police that you do not want to speak to them without a lawyer.
  • Gather evidence. Having the proper evidence may help your attorney build a defense against these charges. Begin collecting as much information as you can that relates to the case, such as text messages, emails, receipts, and other records that can show where you were at the time of the incident. If you have any witnesses who can verify you were at a different location when the alleged crime took place, obtain their names and contact information.
  • Hire a lawyer. A sexual assault charge is not something you want to go through on your own. It carries severe consequences that can negatively affect your life for many years. It is important to hire a criminal lawyer who specializes in defending those accused of sexual assault. The attorney can help you build a strong defense, protect your rights, and improve your chance of a favorable outcome.

Contact an Arlington Heights, IL Criminal Lawyer

If you are facing a sexual assault charge, a dedicated Rolling Meadows, IL criminal attorney can help. Scott F. Anderson, Attorney at Law has more than 20 years of experience defending people in legal trouble and is here to assist you. Call 847-253-3400 to schedule a free consultation.

...

Arlington Heights, IL sex crimes lawyer

Some of the most serious and damaging crimes a person can be accused of are sex crimes. Sex crimes are taken very seriously by law enforcement and the courts. Convictions for certain sex crimes in Illinois require registration as a sex offender, which brings with it numerous restrictions and requirements. If you have been charged with a sex crime, it is imperative that you understand the ramifications a conviction could bring, and that you secure experienced legal representation immediately.

Who Must Register as a Sex Offender?

According to the Illinois Sex Offender Registration Act, individuals convicted of a sex crime, found not guilty by reason of insanity, the subject of a finding not resulting in an acquittal, or adjudicated as being sexually dangerous or violent, are required to register as a sex offender. Common offenses that require sex offender registration include:

...

IL defense lawyerOne of the most damaging crimes a person can be charged with is a sex crime. Because of their violent nature, sex crimes are taken very seriously, as are their allegations. In some instances, you can be forced to register as a sex offender in Illinois for the rest of your life. The sex offender registry is a state-wide system that contains information about sex offenders, such as where they live if they are compliant with registration requirements, their convictions, and photos of them.

Offenses Requiring Sex Offender Registration

According to the Illinois Sex Offender Registration Act, registration is required when a person is convicted or adjudicated for crimes such as:

  • Indecent solicitation of a child;
  • Sexual exploitation of a child;
  • Charges involving juvenile prostitution or juvenile pimping;
  • Child pornography or aggravated child pornography;
  • Sexual assault or abuse, or aggravated sexual assault or abuse;
  • Predatory sexual assault of a child;
  • Ritualized abuse of a child;
  • Forcible detention, if the victim is under age 18;
  • Indecent solicitation of an adult;
  • Soliciting for a prostitute, pandering, patronizing or pimping, if the victim is under age 18;
  • A third or subsequent conviction of public indecency;
  • Custodial sexual misconduct;
  • Sexual misconduct with a person with a disability;
  • Permitting sexual abuse of a child; or
  • Sexually-motivated kidnapping or abduction, or sexually-motivated aggravated kidnapping, if the victim is under age 18.

In order for you to be required to register as a sex offender, you must also have been:

...

CALL US TODAY AT 847-253-3400 FOR A FREE INITIAL CONSULTATION